Sponge

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mutley

Reaction score
Hello all :bow:

New to the forum, i have been on here for a few days now soaking up as much information as possible ;D

I have been wanting to get into this hobby for some time, but other stuff got in the way, i am in the process of choosing a lathe and mill, not looking for anything huge as it will be mainly hand size pieces that i will be making for model boats, rc cars and after looking on this site, i would like to build one of those flame sucker engines and progress up to a beam engine, but all in good time ;)

I have little to no experience in this environment, but I am looking forward to the near vertical learning curve ???

Mutley,

Welcome to our forum.
icon_welcome.gif

Best Regards
Bob

WELCOME :bow:
you have found the right place these guys "N" gals are great :bow:

Welcome Jon,
Now that you are here, may I be the first to offer some unsolicited advice.

A flame sucker engine is one of the most difficult engines to get running. The fit of the parts has to be very good, and even then they can be very fussy to make run. Not that a novice can not build and make one run, but it can be very frustrating if it is your first engine.

I would suggest that you start with a steam/compressed air engine first. Get one or two of those running first to get a feel for your tools and to develop your model engine machining abilities. They are the easiest to make run and will really get you hooked.

Gail in NM,USA