So what are these engines for?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zeeprogrammer

Reaction score
I'm new to nearly everything machining and steam related.
I jumped into it a few months ago and recently built a single-action oscillating steam engine (and I'm still amazed I can say...single-action oscillating steam engine).

Now people at work have started asking me questions. That's great but I don't know the answers. The big one is..."what's it for?"...the engineering friends state this question as "in what applications is it used?".

Tried some googling for 'oscillating steam engine applications' but didn't get much.

So here I am...

mill engine - in a factory (a mill)
launch engine - in a launch (a boat)
marine engine - in a boat (ship?)
oscillating engine ?
radial engine ? airplane?
beam engine ? pump?
other types...what are they?

Any/all help is appreciated.

Carl,

Some paddle steamers had Oscillating Cylinder engines driving the paddles.

Best Regards
Bob

Z:
welcome to the HMEM world. I wish I had a nickle saved for every time I heard what is it for or what does it do. For one thing they get little boys of all ages and girls too to ask questions!!
Seriously though I tell folks the oscillator has been used to power steam toys ov various types for over 100 years . The radials were early aircraft engines used in WW1 and WW2 in IC of course although there have been some steam powered aircraft engines
IIRC Beam engines were used in factories marine applications and possibly pumping at mines.
Tin