Small fuel injector source?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keith5700

Project of the Month Winner!!!
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Anyone know what the smallest commercially available petrol fuel injectors are, or to what they are fitted?
I need a couple to fit to a 1/4 scale v8, but I'd really rather not spend weeks and months developing something if I can get them off the shelf.

I've been searching for days but come up empty handed. There are some references to them being used on chain saws and lawn mowers, but I can't find any sizes or manufacturers
I'm looking at a max. overall length around 30mm, 1.25".
Cheers.

Hi Keith,

I also look for small fuel injectors, but I can not find... in fact I am thinking to developing one... for that I am studying about the pressure it must support, also the flow, etc...

Maybe we can develop together... what do you think ?

Cheers,

Alexandre

How hard could it be to develop? I've envisioned such an idea, A small orifice, a spring loaded plunger made of ferrous material to keep it closed, a coil of wire with and a pulse width modulated signal to it to vary the duty cycle

something like an Arduino board should be able to be programmed with the inputs such as a crank trigger, and you could use an old speed density type of setup like the older early 90's Fords to calculate fueling based on Manifold absolute pressure.

Ahhhh if only I had more free time.

http://www.arduino.cc/

The boards themselves are only 35 bucks and can be programmed and reused repeatedly for any application, all of the software is open source. They have bigger boards with more inputs and outputs if needed. And after you get it right, it just requires a 9v plug to run independently

I've downloaded 3 books to my kindle to start learning the Arduino software but I have not started yet