Rotary Table vs Dividing Head ?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blanik

Reaction score
Greetings,

I'm looking to buy either a Rotary Table or a Dividing Head for use on my Sieg SX2.7 Mini-mill.

I'm an instrument maker/Instrument Fitter by trade, and after a break from the trade of around thirty years, I'm now starting to get back into the work as a hobby. My current uses for a Dividing Head or Rotary Table include; instrument and clock gear cutting (previously done via a dividing attachment on the old lathe), radius cutting, etc. Future uses could be anything, as I have no idea where by hobby will take me during my retirement.

I notice that Rotary Tables are now being supplied with optional Dividing Plates & Sectors, and Tail Stocks. At first glance, that suggests that a modern Rotary Table (purchased with the dividing accessories), can do the same job as a traditional Dividing Head. Is this right ?

The 100mm Dividing Head that I'm looking at is the Vertex BS-0. That's the tilting version - I'd prefer the non-tilting version of the Vertex Dividing Head, but the local dealer doesn't currently stock it.

The 100mm Rotary Table that I'm considering is the Vertex HV-4, with the Dividing Accessories and Tail Stock.

Dimensions wise, the 100mm Rotary Table with Dividing Accessories, takes up a lot less space on the mill table than the 100mm Vertex Dividing Head. So, that's one possible plus for the Rotary Table.

Price wise, they're similarly priced.

So, the big question ....... Are these two tools, the Dividing Head, and the Rotary Table with Dividing Accessories, interchangeable ? Or, are there some jobs that one of those tools can do, that the other tool can not do ?

Looking forward to hearing your advice.

Regards,

Blanik