Removing machining marks from grooves

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

prophub

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm new to machining and have probably a question you've tackled a thousand times but for the life of me I can't come up with a simple answer. I'm building a Burr puzzle for my Dad's x-mas present. I still have some work to do with knocking down the sharp edges and corners but my question concerns the machining marks in the grooves of the blocks. How do you polish them out or at least make them less noticeable? I was thinking of using some spray adhesive to a stick some sandpaper to a piece of wood cut to the size of the groove but I'm concerned about keeping everything square. Any ideas?

Thanks for looking.

Shawn

DSCN0113.JPG

DSCN0117.JPG

Your sandpaper idea is not to bad, just use a very fine grit like 500. Also, you can buy very fine fingernail polishing
pads in the cosmetics section of the grocery store. Your concern about keeping the surfaces square is valid.
Just go slow and pay attention. Test fit the pieces often as they can get lose rather quickly. Your dad is a
Lucky man and will certainly enjoy the puzzle.

Regards,
Mike

Cool project ! Been lookin for a gift idea myself. Where'd you get the plans? Thanks.

Purpleknif - I got the plans from http://homepage.ntlworld.com/bruce.viney/Plans.html. The plans are free and most importantly, they provide the solution as well!