pressure and quantity

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julian

Reaction score
Hi All,

At work it is assumed that because I am a model engineer I am also the authority on all technical matters......I wish!!!!!

We have had a colleague injured by a lorry tyre exploding as she walked past it and the question was inevitably asked of me....." At 120psi how much air was in there?"

This will also relate to a mk2 compressor I am building. How do I work out how much air at normal atmospheric pressure is compressed into a rigid volume at higher pressures. For example how many litres atmospheric fit into a litre tank at 120psi? I assume there must be a formula for it.

Thanks

Julian.

At 120psi how much air was in there?"

That would depend on the volume of the tyre

I think its Boyles law that gives pressure/volume of gasses.

Jason

It is Boyles law you need.

original volume X original pressure = final volume X final pressure

Allowing for 1bar = 15 psi this gives 120 psi / 15 psi as the ratio = 8

so i think you end up with 8 litres of air in your 1 litre bottle.

waiting for the HMEM science department to shoot me down soon so use this answer very carefully.

best regards Steve C.

Hi,

I can never remember Boyle's Law - I thought it was either:

If you heat a gas, it Boyles

or

Watt's pots never Boyle

;D

Ian

Hi Julian

Non technical answer is a hell of a lot.