Opposed 4 Compressed Air

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cfellows

Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
I finally got back into the shop today and made some chips. I've been doing chemotherapy treatments for the past 5 months months and haven't felt much like making anything (the mind was willing, but the body wasn't). I had my last treatment last week so it's time to get back to work. I'm also going to be moving to Austin sometime in 2009 and will have to work on getting the house in Arizona ready to sell. So, I figure this will be my last engine project until after I move.

This engine will look similar to the Liney RV2 (2 is the model number, not the number of cylinders). Bore will be 1/2" and the stroke will be 5/8". It will use a rotary valve setup on top of the crankcase between the two cylinders. Brass tubing will send the high-pressure air to the cylinder heads where I'll use my slave ball bearing valve assembly for the exhaust. It will also be 4 stroke operation, so I'm hoping it will have a nice sound and run slow.

The crank will be silver soldered and set screw together so I can use one piece connecting rods (even though the drawing shows a two piece rod). Today I started on the Webs, making them out of 1" diameter cold rolled steel. I'm making them heavy to add some flywheel effect. Here's a couple of Visio drawings.

Opposed2.png

Opposed1.png

Chuck

I really like the lines of the RV-2. Is this one going to have the same external gear for the valve?

rleete said:
I really like the lines of the RV-2. Is this one going to have the same external gear for the valve?

Yup. The valve chest will be narrower and, of course, the engine will be about 25% larger.

Chuck

Looking forward to seeing your engine develop. I'm a fan of the RV2 since I built one last year. Neat to see it run.

Charlie