Ok silly question about using dies

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rustyknife

Reaction score
Wow I feel like a complete newb and have a silly question about using dies to cut threads. I'm very familiar with taps and tap drill sizes for various percentages of thread.....but I've only used dies to clean up things that were already threaded, and only cut new threads on a lathe. Is there a chart somewhere that will tell me what diameter to turn a piece of stock down to for threading with a die? Fractional and metric? My matco tap set doesnt even mention this and I've never needed this information until now. Strangely enough, I don't even know the right keywords to type in to search for the information. Complete mental blockage here.

Please help lol.

Regards

Eric

Ok I think I found what I was looking for in the download section ;D

External thread table

Thank you rake60 :bow:

Now off to find a metric version, now that I know what I am looking for.

Regards,

Eric

(I guess I created a post for no reason, so sorry!)

BigOnSteam said:
For 1/4" I use a 1/4" piece of rod, same with other standard sizes like 3/8", 1/2", etc.

Pat J

Yes, my confusion set in when I was trying to grasp what kind of diameter say something 10-32 is.....perhaps my mole hill was too big of a mountain.

thanks

Regards
Eric

rustyknife said:
Yes, my confusion set in when I was trying to grasp what kind of diameter say something 10-32 is.....perhaps my mole hill was too big of a mountain.