Newbie Help - Your thoughts on a lathe

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Effigy

Reaction score
As I am Lathe-less at the moment, I'm making that my first priority.

I've had conflicting advice so far - some say 'Buy a good old British lathe - it will last you for years' others say 'Get one of the modern multi speed lathes'

My thoughts (and I'm pretty clueless, I have to admit) is that being a complete novice (and I mean complete novice - I had to look up 'lathe' in the dictionary to know how to spell it :rolleyes:), I wouldn't know a 'good old British lathe' from a pile of horse..... It could be a gem sitting there under all that gunk, but knowing how the real world works, it will probably be a cast iron money pit.

So I'm inclined to do what everyone else does - complain about the Chinese, then go buy one of their products.

As I understand it, practically all the lathes for sale here in the UK basically come from the Sieg factory or the Weis one. If that's the case then I might as well go for the deal-of-the-day and get the best offer going.

I'm steering towards a Warco WM180 lathe (details here: http://www.warco.co.uk/metal-lathes-metalworking-lathe-machine/15-wm-180-variable-speed-lathe.html )
It seems to come with a whole host of extras, most of which I haven't a clue as to their use, but it sure looks impressive :)

So, what do you guys who know what you are talking about think?

Frank

As you are in the UK, there will be a model engineering society not too far from you. Find one and go and visit them and ask the members what machines they use.