Newb Questions: Shaper

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Antman

Reaction score
My son and I are just about 2 weeks away from buying machines. I am a complete novice, never really had my hands on one, but my boykie has done a year of basic shop training and held down a job he didn’t like for 3 months, and I can’t blame him, repetitive, not a safety conscious shop, strange town….
I found a small shaper for sale, English, about 200mm stoke. This machine seems like the whiskers, I did some reading on it. Is is true you can do almost anything on a shaper, that can be done on a mill? How about finish? Am I right in assuming that how a shaper works is to advance the table a distance for each stroke of the tool and at right angles to the stroke? How fine, is this advance called the feed, can this be?
Anyway I missed a private sale, at 3000 ZAR, but I think the guy who bought it is a dealer and might let it go at a profit. What do you think? If we buy a used lathe, a few 600mm Chinese only 2 years old available, we have a good start for less than I expected to pay for a new Chinese lathe.
Cheers,
Ant.

Opinions are divided, but I LOVE my Douglas 10" shaper.

a: Almost anything, yes, tho' some operations are better carried out on the mill.

b: Finish, of course, depends on the tool, but can be excellent - much better that that produced by an end mill.

c: Table feed - mine is variable from 0.005" to 0.025".

The great beauty of the machine is the single point tooling, which will not only save you lots of money, but also opens the way for all sorts of simply made form tools.

And you never know - you may have to produce an internal gear one day - although there are other methods, the shaper is just the duck's guts for this!