Newb just hoping to learn

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

checkedout

Reaction score
Hello all. I'm new to building model engines.

My son (7 years old) and I are trying to build our first Sterling engine together.
I don't own a shop, or even a garage, so we're making due with what we can do on our kitchen table. ;D
We'll see what we can do.

I would LOVE to have some of the equipment and skills I've seen exhibited by you guys. I hope to just get to know y'all and learn bit by bit. This seems like a great community.

I'll engage "lurking mode" now. :)

~ co

CO,

Welcome to HMEM.

Don't be shy. Most of us started out on the kitchen table. My first tools were a hacksaw and a screwdriver. My first mill was a file. I didn't get my first lathe till I was about 30, a little Sherline that I still have. Tools and a shop, just like a home, are accumulated over time. So are the skills. But they'll never develop if you never start.

So, congratulations on starting ;D

CO,

Welcome to our forum. wEc1

Best Regards
Bob

Welcome CO! I'm sure you'll learn everything you need to get started modeling your first engine here, all one must do is ask, and this find group will help in any possible way they can.

ksouers said:
CO,

Welcome to HMEM.

Don't be shy. Most of us started out on the kitchen table. My first tools were a hacksaw and a screwdriver. My first mill was a file. I didn't get my first lathe till I was about 30, a little Sherline that I still have. Tools and a shop, just like a home, are accumulated over time. So are the skills. But they'll never develop if you never start.

So, congratulations on starting ;D
Ksouers; Well Put.

Matt

I appreciate the encouragement. I'll post a few pictures and if it works... video. :)