Newall DRO on King 14x40 lathe

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petertha

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
Here are some pics of my installation. I’m no expert by any stretch, but happy to answer any questions. Seems like these DRO retrofits arealways a series of tradeoffs & mine is no different. I might regret some decisions down the road, but I'll give it a go this way for now. Your comments also welcome!

So far the travels seem accurate but I haven’t played withit much yet. I'm just happy I didn’t have to rent some heavy lifting equipment to move the lathe away from the wall to get in from. I was able to reach in behind to do x-axis drilling &mounting with a few painful body contortions. The x-axis tube/encoder is Spherosyn. The y-axis & z (compound) are Microsyn 10.

I learned it's worthwhile making simple bar-steel jigs to drill & tap good straight holes in the cast iron. The only lathe assembly chunk I could easily remove was the compound block. Everythingelse was hand drilling in-situ which had me worrying at times. Some holes were just awkward & hard to get good pressure on with the drill & straight in with the tap. Some holes went great & others seemed like they hit the equivalent of fir tree knots. Must have been a melted down tire rim in there! Anyway, all the holes are straight &cleanly tapped. Count myself lucky this time.

Last edited:
Here is the X-axis. I made a few wood mockups till I got it right. I used the threaded holes reserved for taper attachment. If I ever modify my lathe to allow taper cutting capability (which I would like to eventually do) I'll have to re-think this. But I have seen some taper installations clamped onto the cross slide so maybe I will still have that option open.