New guy in Wisconsin

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

My dad was an antique tractor nut so as a kid I spend lots of time admiring some really cool home made hit and miss engines at various antique shows around the Rochester MN area. I took all the machine shop classes I could in high school and summer school, worked at a machine shop for a few years and missed making chips so here I am.

I'm a currently unemployed mechanical engineer that is having fun setting up a little machine shop at home in my now considerable free time. Last summer I picked up an old Bridgeport that was lightly used, but heavily neglected and dissembled. Now the mill its working great and just a week ago I unexpectedly won a new 9x20 lathe on eBay.

Once I get the lathe tooled up I will be starting some type of little billet engine just for fun. I've only spent an hour or two on this site so far, but I can tell there is a ton of great info and interesting people here, great site hope I can contribute in some way.

Thanks
Jon

Welcome to HMEM Jon.

I like your into.
I am an antique engine collector, and an unemployed machinist.
I still love restoring and playing with the old engines, and I'm enjoying
the machining craft more now than I have in the past 25 years.

Have fun, be safe and we'd love to see pictures of those machines!

Rick

Gearhead,

Welcome to HMEM. wEc1

Where in Wiscony you from? I too have a 9x19 "20". There's a bunch of guys on here also with the same stuff you got. So ask any questions that you may have.

I grew a mud duck myself, over in Benson, MN

If your a mechanical engineer, boy I'm glad your here. You may be getting a few PM's from this newbie inventor.

Welcome, Matt

Hi Jon, and welcome to the forum. Like Matt said you'll find good company here. Its a caring and sharing place.