My workshop or shops

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kactiguy

Reaction score
First of all, I'm pretty much a newbie and I really don't have much of a shop to speak of. Instead, my "shop" is all spread out. This map might illustrate what Im talking about.
shops.jpg

I'm an an illustrator for a living. This is the studio where I work. It is also where think about all of the things I'd rather be doing like building something out of metal.
IMG_2819.jpg

Through that little opening on the left is my little hobby bench or corner or whatever you want to call it. It is unfinished now, but eventually it will have a bowling alley desktop to match the other desks. I bought that little drill press from Birk. Mighty handy.
IMG_2826.jpg

This is my garage where I have my workbench and a bit larger drill press, vice and other tools. You can just see the front of another project--my 1946 chevy pickup.
IMG_2833.jpg

If you want to see my lathe you have to travel a few blocks to my dad's shop. It it a craftsman lathe that somebody gave him. It is part of the reason I got interested in this hobby in the first place. When he got it, nobody knew how to use it, so we started learning what we could. This forum has been a big help. His shop also has a welder, torch, cut off saw, a much larger drill press (which couldn't drill an accurate hole if it's life depended on it) and other useful stuff like extra scrap metal.
IMG_2814.jpg

IMG_2815.jpg

Now, down the street to my brother's house to use the mill. Another "donated" piece of equipment. An older gentleman in our neighborhood passed away and his family gave it to my dad. Again, we really didn't know how to use it, but we are learning. If I remember right the mill is a Fray. It is a monster, but it works well, and it came with a ton of bits and stuff.
IMG_2809.jpg