My Modified HMEM EZ Engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nerdz

Reaction score
Hello All! Ive been meaning to post this for quite some time, but moving stuff tends to..make everything messy. Ive been getting my work area all together, and I think I can finally (re)start on this project.

It is my second engine, and Ive contemplated dropping this one to start a whole another one! But then I would drop that one to start another and then...! However, there is another project that has my attention to (But I havent built it yet; A home energy Monitor. But anyway!

Ive decided to build this different than what the drawings show. I find the measurements to be confusing sometimes, probably because I work in a shop and they do everything from "edges", but Im able to figure it out.

The first difference you will notice is the crankshaft. Instead of having it go directly on the flywheel, I decided to make a crankshaft. Now I couldn't figure out how to do this correctly, I had but when I used a parting blade to make a offset shaft, it didnt like taking interrupted cuts. I dont have a QTP yet, so Im sure having it centered correctly would help. I decided to use two small pieces of aluminum with a brass rod in the offset position, loctited in place.

IMG_2988.jpg

The flywheel is made the same way, but its a little thicker. It needs to be cleaned up a bit.

I also decided to make the piston/valve arrangement separate from the flywheel, Kind of like a mill Engine. I'll need to take the utmost care to align everything when it comes time for assembly.

One screw up though: The main cylinder points down slightly. I could fix this by making another mount, but Im curious to see how forgiving the engine is in terms of accuracy. The cylinder is also about 10 thou over the piston diameter. Its what I get for using a 1/2 drill bit.