My first

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jor2daje

Reaction score
Hey guys, wanted to start by saying great forum, Ive been lurking on and off for a couple years now there is an amazing wealth of knowledge. And now that Im going to be reunited with my sherline (Im a freshman in college so had to leave it behind for my first semester :mad: ) I have quite a few plans for more complicated engines.

This one the second or third project that I did on my sherline and first engine, I designed it myself although I know the principle is nothing new. Not very exciting but its a runner and it feels good having made it myself from some scrap. Flywheel is two part outer is a section of steel pipe, inner is 6061 alu. the body, cylinder, crank and base are all 6061 also, base is sandal wood, the cylinder liner is brass tubing (not sure if that was the best choice but I didnt have any reamers at the time), bronze bushings, and the piston is some stainless. "cooling fins" are purely decorative but were a fun challenge because the are not concentric with the cylinder body. Anyway time for some pictures, any criticisms or recommendations for a next small engine would be great.

No where near as shiny as some on the forum but a nice desk piece anyway.
DSC06344.jpg

DSC06346.jpg

crappy quality video, first run, prior to putting in bronze bushings so flywheel wobbles a fair amount.

Very nice, indeed, jor2daje. Especially so for a first engine. You should be proud.

Where are you attending college and what are you studying? (We're a nosy lot here.) Perhaps, when you have a chance, you could introduce yourself in the welcome section of the forum.