My first ever attempt at milling

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmuir

Reaction score
As I've never used a milling machine before I wanted to do something simple and cheap in case I messed it up so I settled on making myself some T-Nuts.

All marked out.
Tnut1.jpg

First pass done.
Tnut2.jpg

First pass with the swarf brushed off.
Tnut3.jpg

Half way through the final pass.
Tnut4.jpg

Finished surface.
Tnut5.jpg

My thoughts after my first attempt at milling.
It's not as noisy or scary as I thought it would be. :big:
Preparation is everything.
I can see me fitting a DRO to this soon.
I now fully understand why people motorise the X axis, winding is tedious to say the least.

Unfortunately bolstered with my success I started on the other side and on the second pass I wound too fast and the endmill bit in and broke, as this is the only endmill I have that's my milling finished for the long weekend.

Not how I wanted it to end but it was a good learning experience anyway.

Brian
That was my first thought too. I killed off several end mills before it became natural to spot when I was climb milling.

Tony...
Milling was initially intimidating to me too. Now I seem to gravitate to the mill for mos things. Funny thing... I too expected the mill the be a bit more "violent" the first time I powered into metal. The power feed is definitely a plus and the one offered for the mini mill, by LMS works quite well.

The mods I made to mine that made the experience most enjoyable were the power feed, the belt drive, the collets and the extended Z rack. All were well worth the investment.

Now.... about that climbing cut....(grin)

Steve

Brian Rupnow said:
Were you climb milling when you did the other side?

No, well atleast I don't think so.