Making D1-4 Cam Lock Spindle for Lathemaster 9x30

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnT

Reaction score
I have a Lathemaster 9x30 and would like to have a D1-4 camlock system on it. Right now it has the stock brain-damaged chinese quasi camlock. Where the studs mounted directly on the back of the chuck go thru holes in the spindle flange and a so-called locking ring. This so-called locking ring is then rotated a bit (see in jpeg as thin black knurled ring at back edge of spindle flange). Doesn't lock it though you still have to put nuts on the studs and tighten them down. In essence if you removed the rotating plate it would be the same as a straight bolt on chuck. I think it's retarded. Matter of fact- I KNOW it is.
See attached jpegs of the spindle and chuck. You can see what a tight fit it is to tighten the nuts on the studs behind the spindle flange. It's so dimwitted it is such that that you MUST use an open end wrench! a ratcheting box end won't fit! "Let us see now, how can we make mounting or unmounting the chuck as difficult as possible?"

Has anyone made a new spindle for a lathemaster that's D1-4 camlock?

Lathe Spindle &Chuck.jpg

Spindle.jpg

Lathe Headstock.jpg

there are many solutions...here is one idea...make a new backing plate and drill the 4 mounting studs all the way through the chuck (front mounting) the bolts will go through the chuck (from the front) and get screwed into the new mounting plate....

no wrenches involved only allen wrench very easy on off etc...

hope this helps

Lawrence

John,

I feel your pain with the 3 bolt, fractional turn at a time, chuck mount system. I had such a system on my old 3 in 1. That is one reason I bought a replacement lathe (used) that had the D1-4 from the factory.