Lathework: A Complete Course

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rockets

Reaction score
I have just ordered this book to hopefully help me get back into lathework.
When I say get back, It has been 22 years since I was an apprentice in a diesel/electrical shop where we overhauled fuel pumps, generators and traction motors on diesel electric railcars. I only ever used the lathe for truing up commutators, boring bushes and the like.

Has anyone else used this book? I am hoping that coupled with tuition from my brother I can use it to further my turning skills.

Cheers, Rockets.

Anything you can read is good for you. I'm not familiar with that book so I cannot specifically comment.

However there is a great book from the Hercus Company on lathe operation. It's a free download and can be had here:

http://www.bbssystem.com/manuals/Lathe-Tutorial.pdf

Note this is a PDF. Right click and select save to copy to your computer.

I found this book to be invaluable to me when I first got started with metal lathes.

Thanks TWMaster. Duly downloaded and saved. I already have Sparey's book 'The Amateurs Lathe' which is excellent, but I'm looking for a tuition based book.

That looks great, cheers.

Rockets.

I have this book and it's an excellent tutorial for lathe work. Mr. Hall explains very clearly what to do, and more importantly, why to do it. He tells you the pitfalls, the tradeoffs, and alternate approaches. It's very well illustrated, the plans are clear and complete, and the text is informative and complete. It reads as if Mr. Hall is standing at your shoulder tutoring you.

The book uses a project based approach to teaching lathe fundamentals. Each project is slightly more involved than the previous one. The result of each project is a useful workshop tool, so as you are learning, you are tooling up your lathe.