Inlet- and exhaust-port sizes

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geoff p

Reaction score
I trying to make my own version of a horizontal petrol-engine, in the style of the Amanco etc.

With few exceptions, I'm casting everything in aluminium and I'm aiming for a bore: 25mm, stroke 30mm.

What sort of sizes would you recommend for 1/ the valves and 2/ the ports to the outside-world?

Geoff
Thailand

I'm not an expert but I've built engines of about that size. A 9mm - 10mm valve diameter should be about right. The exhaust port should be 7mm - 8mm and the intake port shoul be 5mm - 6mm. Valve stem size of up to 4mm should be OK.

Chuck

I finished a vertical IHC at christmas with same bore and 38mm stroke.

Valve heads were 3/8" (10mm) and the void behind 5/16 (8mm) and passages were 5/16" (8mm) exhause, 1/4(6mm) inlet .valve stems were 1/8" (3mm)

J

Hi Geoff,
That's a very hard question to answer. The old hot rodding rule of thumb was to put as large of valve/s as possible into the combustion chamber/cylinder head. The intake always being larger than the exhaust because of the need to charge the cylinder better on the intake stroke.
Most hit and miss and simple designed single cylinder engines have both valves of the same diameter.