I'm also new ...

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Path

Reaction score
What a great site. :) :)

I've been reading as a guest for the last few days now and just can't quit. :p
There is so much here to read and learn from ....

So how did I get here?

I have been building the Pennsylvania A3 Switcher in 3/4" for about 5 years now ... still a along way to go but I've picked up the pace this year and hope to continue that way. I hang out at Discover Live Steam (http://livesteam.proboards.com) where we discuss the A3 in detail. We have about 5 or 6 current builders maybe more. Well guess what? A few weeks ago 1hand joined stating he has started his A3 and reporting his progress here at HMEM. So I ask what is HMEM and where do I find the site? So here I am ...

Thanks 1hand for the recommending HMEM. I hope to not only learn a lot but also contribute as much as I can. ;)

Now a little about myself ...

Retired but very active with family and 4 grand kids etc.

I'm have been taking various classes at a local community collage for several years so that I can have access to a very well equipped machine shop. Plus they have 4 Haas mills and Lathe, which I now can use! A real incentive. ;)

I do have my own shop with the normal stuff ... but looking for a CNC mill but nothing yet. :-\

I have a web site where I report my progress on the various projects ... with lots of pictures on what I did and the outcome. I'm somewhat of a perfectionist ... I will scrap a out a piece if I don't like it or it's out of spec. Sometimes I think I'm building 2 A3s with all my extra parts!!

My web site is www.phutcheson.net look in Projects ... here you'll find the A3 and my new (3 years old now) shop (page does need updating however, will do that soon). Plus other projects.