Howdy from Tucson

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

acorn

Reaction score
Hi, my name is Aaron and I'm from Tucson Arizona. I've been lurking for awhile here and finally decided to sign up a couple days ago. Lots of really great info here. It may be quite awhile before I get around to building any model engines as most of my free time to machine is spent building custom weight training equipment for my other hobby. I currently work in IT but my first career was as a machinist. Its been close to 15years now since I worked in that capacity though and I'm sure I have forgotten much. I do the occasional fab work at home though and enjoy the problem solving aspect now as much as I ever did. I have a few basic tools and do my best to make do with what I have until I can save up enough to get a decent workshop built in the back yard. A short list of tools includes a Southbend 10k Lathe that I am working on bringing back to full functionality, a 7x10 mini - lathe I will probably get rid of once the SB is done, Small drill press with x-y table, Mig and Oxy welding equipment plus the skills to use them, Hand tools, belt sander, etc. Also have lots of other tools but those are likely the relevant ones.