Homier 7X14 Lathe tools

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richard.white

Reaction score
Hi all, I am brand new at this. I have a 7X14 Homier lathe and am wanting to buy the right bits for it, but I can't figure out which size 3/8, 1/4, or 5/16? I looked all through my user manual and no mention is given to tool size. Additionally how do you guys cut such small parts on your lathes without bending the rods or metal? I would like to try my hand at the Mine Engine, but maybe I'm starting off with a complicated project? Thank you.

Richard

Richard:
First of all welcome but please if you have a couple minutes post a thread in the welcome area and tell us a little about yourself. Whats are your interests, and where are you from, and a little about your home shop.
OK back to the question.
Any of those sizes will work with a couple of cautions.
first of all it is important to have the cutting edge of your tool at center height of the lathe. The simplest way I know of is to eyball it close then gently hold a 6" rule between the tool bit and a piece of round stock held in the chuck if the bit is high the top of the rule will kick in if low the bottom will kick in the rule should be vertical. the way height is adjusted is with shims .Place strips of metal under the tool until the correct height is achieved. An easier way to do this is buy a quick change tool holder. These are much easier to adjust for center height they have a thumb nut.

how do you guys cut such small parts on your lathes without bending the rods or metal?