First and Third Projection Symbols

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GreenTwin

Staff member
HMEM Supporting Member
Global Moderator
Reaction score
I have been drawing professionally for 29 years, both manually on the drawing board, and on computers.

Recent discussions involve mixing up symbols for first and third projection.

I have to admit I have never used these symbols, and would not know what they look like if I saw them.

Can somebody post a drawing that shows those, preferably a model engine drawing.

Thanks,

In the drawings I create for work and for model engines, I like to envision an exploded view of an engine, and then arrange all the parts on the drawings in the approximate order that they are seen in the exploded view.

And I like to draw parts so that their mating surfaces are facing each other, often stringing several mating parts together across the sheet.

So I guess I sort of use a "what you see is what you get" approach.

For equipment in buildings, I draw things on the sheets as if I were looking down on the building from overhead, so that someone looking at my drawings does not need to physically rearrange the orientation of the equipment in their head in order to understand the adjacencies of equipment, how it is fed, and how the process flows.

Some engine drawing sets (and building/equipment drawings) that I have seen are drawn as if a bomb hit, and the parts are just scattered randomly.
There may be a valve next to a flywheel, with the valve springs many sheets away.
I would guess some folks just start drawing parts on sheets in the space available, with no consideration of organization, or grouping of related items/adjacencies.

For large working projects, it is a matter of necessity to rigorously organize things, else the project will quickly get out of hand.