Done lurking

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DavesWimshurst

DavesWimshurst
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm an exhibit designer/builder/repairman for a small science museum in Aurora Il. I got my first lathe in the mid 60's. I thought I'd post a few pics on topics I've seen here.

Some engines

IMG_0111.jpg

a radius tool

IMG_0030.jpg

an LTD Stirling engine

IMG_0147.jpg

some turner's cubes, the largest is 2 inch.

IMG_0126.jpg

More later

Dave

What, no Wimshurst machine?

Welcome aboard. You've got some lovely models there.

BTW, you have my retirement dream job.

Welcome to the forum Dave!

Lurking is simply casual obsevation prior to becoming an active member.

I'm sure most of the active members started out this way.

I look forward to see more pictures of your work.

Question. What is that small motor in front of what appears to be a Stuart?

I like small, simple, and interesting motors. Any chance you have a larger picture of it?

Thanks.

-MB

Ok

Sectorless triplex Wimshurst machine with 18 inch disk.

IMG_0131.jpg

Will try to decipher posting vids next
Dave

MB
The small bronze engine in front of the Stuart 10V is a piston valve of about 3/8 in bore and stroke.
I think I found the plans in an old model magazine from the 30's. I had access to a large library when in grad school. For the record it never ran well if at all, but it looked cute for the pic.

Marv
Sometimes the visitors, mainly school children, try to destroy/eat the exhibits. Grew up on a pig farm, same problem.

Dave

Welcome to the Forum, Dave.