Determining a carburetor throath diameter

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
What criteria drive the dimension of a carburetor throath diameter?

Is it fair to assume that a carb correct for a 1 cylinder 4 strokes is good for up to 4 cylinder since they intake one at the time?

I suppose a minimum air speed is required to atomize and suck the fuel but too much restriction can starve the engine.

What happen to the fuel mixture ratio when the throttle closes?
Less air at higher velocity lower pressure? Would that pull more fuel making it rich?

In other words I have no idea how the Physic of a carb works.

I'm not too good with carbs either, but I know a carb set up for good high speed operation will be too rich at low throttle/idle. For this reason, they often have an 'air bleed' which is basically a hole to allow extra air into the mix at low throttle settings. Of course this hole has to be correctly sized as well, and can be replaced with a needle for fine adjustment. At higher throttle settings it is effectively closed off and had no effect.

Generally, a carb for multi-cylinders will be bigger than the carb for just one cylinder of the same size. But not twice as big for a twin cylinder etc. While only one cylinder is sucking at a time, the total cubic centimetres of air flow per minute is greater with two cylinders than one. So the carb has to accommodate that without getting air flow speed too high. It's a dark art and there are no easy answers. Best to look at what has already worked on established designs as a starting point.