Copper boilers

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GWRdriver

Reaction score
I'm pretty good, no I'm actually very good, at designing and building copper boilers. I've designed and built over 100 boilers from 1.5" to 6" diameter for locomotives, stationary, and marine engines (all of which models I build for myself) and I'll be glad to advise anyone who needs information and guidance on design, materials, tools, and processes including silver soldering. I can design a steel boiler, but since I'm a terrible welder I don't build steel boilers. It also occurs to me that the Board might benefit from having a seperate "Boiler" topic heading?

SALEY1.jpg

Welcome GWR, This is a great place.

I want to build a boilers in the future so I will probably pester you to death when the time comes. :big: :big: I'm slowly learning silver soldering at this time on a small marine steam engine. So far things have gone well.

Ron

Diymania said:
Did you come here to gloat ? Kinda seem like it.

No, I came here to offer my experience (45 years of it) to others who might benefit from it, but if that's going to be viewed as gloating then I can find other things to do. I always appreciated having folks who knew more than me to guide me through the maze and the model engineering tradition is to pass it on, but there will always be a few who resent it.

To see one picture simply click on the small photo under my first post. This is a coal fired boiler with an OD of 2", one of a matched pair made for model Climax Type-A locomotives in 1/2" scale for someone in the USA.

GWRdriver said:
... boilers from 1.5" to 6" diameter for locomotives, stationary, and marine engines .

Nice! As I'm just getting started in the locomotive-building side of this hobby, I'm interested in seeing horizontal boiler designs. Please post some photos!

Vernon,