compressed air engine powering a air compressor

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

59flatbedford

Reaction score
ok this is a little out there but i was thinking this morning and theoretically could you have a compressed air engine hooked up to and driving an air compressor that in turn provided the air to run the engine, an engine powering itself. if the air compressor could put out the same or more air than the engine would use at any given rpm the motor could essentially run forever on its own energy right. this makes sense in my head but im sure it dont work this way or else there would be examples of this in the real world. just a crazy thought and since im new to air engines and am no where near a engineer of any sorts, although i am going to college next fall for mechanical engineering, thought i would throw this out there to ponder.

That's called perpetual motion. It doesn't work. Friction and inefficiencies will always cause it to stop.
There are always losses in any system, that's why you have to keep replenishing the energy.

You're kidding, right? If not...review the laws of thermodynamics, especially the one that can be summed up as, "You always lose."

;D Trying to do so is an excellent way of decreasing all the torque sucking problems in your design, but you will still lose some of the energy along the way so you just can't self run a motor from a generator. If you get it as perfect as possible it might run for a few moments but at ever decreasing speed...

This is also called HIGH efficency designing. ;D It is a worthy goal.

Perpetual motion has never been achieved but there are still
research groups around the world trying to find a way.
Keep thinking.

Rick

ksouers said:
That's called perpetual motion. It doesn't work. Friction and inefficiencies will always cause it to stop.