CASTING PARTS FROM TIN OR ZINC?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kegan

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I am new to casting but have been collecting materials to melt for a long time. I have only just recently gotten a house and a workshop and am planning my first foundry/furnace build in the next few month.

I have collected cast aluminium and cast zinc and tin items. Ive been learning to tell the difference lately, density seems to be a tell tale indicator. Items like belt guards can be made from aluminium quite easily and the material seems to suit such applications. But items like the base of machines, lathe beds and such call for a heavier material like cast iron. Take the Quorn tool cutter for example.

So has anyone used tin or zinc or zamak or alumimium-bronze to make parts for projects like the Quorn etc? I noticed my Myford ML7 Apron is made from a metal that is not aluminium or cast iron, correct me if I am wrong.

If this topic has been covered sufficiently please accept my apologies and point me in the right direction. If you have experience with any of this please share. I like to experiment and my budget is tight so I like out the box ideas. Simply buying ingots of the right type of material is not an option for me at this time.

Thank you for your time

Kegan

Some of the Unimat DB/SL lathes had parts that were cast from aluminum and some had parts that were cast from zamak. These were all die-cast parts. I believe that some of the zamak parts would tend to "creep" if they had a cantilevered load on them for long periods of time. That's why you didn't want to leave the Unimat in the mill format for months/years on end. I believe that zamak would be the preferred material for anything that doesn't have weight hanging off from it, due to its' higher density.