Calling BigOnSteam regarding DraftSight

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twebb

Reaction score
Thank you for your great work posted on the 'DraftSight - Free 2D CAD' thread. I have printed out the thread (including .jpg's) for my CAD notebook. Your comments regarding drafting in general and DraftSight in particular are very helpful.

In the lessons you provided on the thread you indicated to always use a scale of 1:1. I'm assuming that this is because you are drawing model engine parts and most of those parts can be drawn and printed actual size. How would Draftsight need to be configured to draw a single view of an object 4000mm X 2400mm? I have limited experience with TurboCAD which allows you to 'pre-scale' the graphics area by indicating the 'real world' dimensions. I don't think DraftSight offers the 'pre-scale' feature. However, I'm sure it can be done, I just don't know how!!!

Without the TurboCAD 'pre-scale' feature, I find the scaling difficult to understand and configure in a DraftSight environment. I have no trouble scaling in a manual drafting situation.

I'm seeking a free CAD package as close to AutoCAD LT as possible. Have you had the opportunity to try DoubleCAD XT? DoubleCAD XT is touted as being a AutoCAD LT work-alike. Based on my limited experience TurboCAD, I find DoubleCAD XT a bit more user-friendly than DraftSight. But that is probably because I'm somewhat used to the TurboCAD interface.

Considering your experience with AutoCAD, how close is DraftSight to AutoCAD LT in terms of being a 'work-alike'?

In closing, thank-you so much for your contributions to the DraftSight thread. Your background in drafting and CAD make your comments extremely valuable!!

Hello Twebb-

Thanks for the feedback. I find 2D CAD to be very useful to model making.