Cadet...

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ca-g

Reaction score
It all started when Ashley next door showed me his... Mamod. That would have been in about 1959. I really wanted it, or one just like it. Fast forward about fifty years (I didn't, real time all the way, took ages...) and I am watching Tv, what do I see but a similar engine. Light bulb goes on in my head, and a few weeks later I have a Weeden 14 running nicely in the shed. Have also made a trip to see the nearest operating steam engine, only a mile away and only the oldest operating steam engine in the world. Google the Powerhouse Museum in Sydney Australia.

I work in my shed for a living, you can see what I make here. www.concertina.com.au. I'm not any sort of skilled engineer though, I only know how to make the parts for my own products. A lot of my work is in CNC (Taig mill). I have been reading this site for a while now and have learned a lot which will be handy in my work.

I have a Stuart horizontal casting kit and am thinking of buying a big Bolton No 7, though I won't be starting either just yet. I want know enough to make a good job of the kits. After the kits I want to branch out and make an engine of my own design. Well, it might happen...

I really admire the skill many here have. That big Benson, gorgeous. Also really like Cherry Hill and WM Dubin...

G'day Chris. I have watched my neighbour make several concertinas. Having the patience a craftsmanship to make these beautiful instruments you should have no trouble at all in making your engine kits into works of art.

G'day Chris. I have watched my neighbour make several concertinas. Having the patience a craftsmanship to make these beautiful instruments you should have no trouble at all in making your engine kits into works of art.

Herbie,

This must be Chris V?

Chris