brass lineshaft brackets

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xlchainsaw

Reaction score
ive been a bit busy casting these 4 inch brackets for lineshafts.

ebay.jpg

IMG_1927.jpg

IMG_1928.jpg

Great Work
Always interested in what you're up to.
Al

Hey xl,

On that brass casting, do you add zinc before the pour? Do you use scrap brass or buy ingots?

Was just wondering. I'd like to try brass someday. have done aluminum.

Bernd

Nice work!

I am just getting started in the foundry fun! I have poured a few brass ingots from brass wire EDM scraps, I get about 30% slag when I melt it down initially. I have been scrounging yellow & red brass castings from our local scrap dealers, I plan to melt some of this down this weekend. Do I need to add anything to make the brass more pourable? I do have some flux that I purchased. I have a flask ready & a pattern made to test out the process. I was told that throwing in a piece of Aluminum would help to make the brass more liquid??

Mike N said:
Nice work!

I am just getting started in the foundry fun! I have poured a few brass ingots from brass wire EDM scraps, I get about 30% slag when I melt it down initially. I have been scrounging yellow & red brass castings from our local scrap dealers, I plan to melt some of this down this weekend. Do I need to add anything to make the brass more pourable? I do have some flux that I purchased. I have a flask ready & a pattern made to test out the process. I was told that throwing in a piece of Aluminum would help to make the brass more liquid??