Benchmaster vert mill

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jtrain

Reaction score
I have an opportunity to buy an old Benchmaster vertical mill with a 6x18 table. It is very nice condition, the thing I do not care about it is the table side to side has a lever with a rack and pinion, not a screw and hand wheel, is this an acceptable way of milling. I could get it for a few hundred dollars.
John

John,
I have a Benchmaster Vertical mill, as do a couple of the other members here.
The Lever operated rack and pinon feed on the table indicates it wsa a "production" mill. Companies could buy a bunch of mills, set each one up for a single operation, and after dropping the part in the fixture, the operator would just have to move the lever back and forth to machine the part. Benchmasters were pretty cheap, so you could set up a production line of several mills, each set up to perform a single step on a part, and the operators would pass the part down the line after doing their operation on the part.

If it were me, and the mill was in good shape, I would certainly buy it. The manuals, parts diagrams, etc. are readily available on line. They are easy to rebuild. The original spec spindle bearings are still available from Timken etc.

Tooling is easy to find, Uses 2mt collets and endmill holders.

Jim

there must be some sort of lock or brake on the table, so holes can be bored or use a rotary table. Could a screw and a handwheel be made to replace the rack and pinion?

it sounds like a good machine and if you have a decent size lathe you can make a new screw

milling with the leaver feed sure will make you think differently about how you mill it maybe very interesting

I have a Nichols mill, which are able to be used as production mills. They are set up in a similar fashion.