A newbie from South Africa

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wagner1975

Reaction score
Hallo Everyone

I feel like I know everyone after reading ZEE's - Horizontal Mill Engine. So I guess it's time to introduce myself. My name is Wagner Jordaan, I'm 34 years old and from Tulbagh in South Africa. I'm a farmer and winemaker, so I'm way out of my league here. I got myself a hobbymat lathe and a new Optimum variable speed drill/mill and a lot of the smaller things I'm gonna need. A friend also gave me his Myford super 7, since he doesn't use it. ;D SO .... I have all the tools and material is easy to come by. I started on the Miser, but will have to redo most of it ... I don't think it's a good engine for a newbie to start off with ... so that one is on ice for now. Still looking for some plans that will interest me ... Steam, I think it will be. Will keep you posted!

Anyway, this is an awesome place for newbies like me! Congratulations to all that participate! :bow:

Cheers Wagner

Welcome to the forum! :D Zeep's engine threads seem to motivate a lot of people, and it sounds like you've got a nice shop there. I'm looking forward to seeing what your next project will be... or the progress on the Miser engine!

Wagner,

Welcome to our forum.
icon_welcome.gif

Best Regards
Bob

Welcome Wagner !

Oh, there's some really good wines coming from Tulbagh - I know ;) !

Sounds like you're nicely kitted out for a start - and yes, living close to Cape Town, stock shouldn't be a problem ;D

There's some good engines to build on the John Tom site. Even though a lot of the engines built by members here on HMEM is shown running on compressed air, most are actually designed to be run on steam. I can really recommend "Elmer's Fancy" for a first build - run it on compressed air for now, and build a boiler later :)

Kind regards, Arnold