4 CYLINDER VERTICAL OSCILLATOR

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard Hed

Reaction score
Moses Lake in the Great Soviet of Washington
Presently I am drawing up J. De Waal's 4 cylinder vertical oscillator, project #09A-14-00. I thot I would very much like to build such a device until I started drawing the cylinder system. My objections are that the cylinder wall is too thin, that it is soldered to a "base" to oscillate together; that the cylinder tops and bottoms are bolted together with 3 long bolts with triangle heads; and that a large air space exists at the top and bottom of the stroke.

I very much like the basic idea of this design, that is, I like the base system with the crank and columns, it's just the cylinder system that I thimk is bad. Can anyone offer some comments?

What's the problem with the cylinder wall thickness? I've done larger bore engines with the same wall thickness.

If you don't like the way the cylinders go together then design them differently, could be done from a solid block with end plates fitted in a number of ways, but the triangular cylinder end covers and long studs are a bit of a feature of the engine and stop it looking like all the rest.

What's the problem with the cylinder wall thickness? I've done larger bore engines with the same wall thickness.

If you don't like the way the cylinders go together then design them differently, could be done from a solid block with end plates fitted in a number of ways, but the triangular cylinder end covers and long studs are a bit of a feature of the engine and stop it looking like all the rest.