2-stroke, 2-cylinder engine?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

Jerd

Hello everyone!

I'm new to this comunity, and allready have a question ;)
I'm currently working on a 2 cycle glow engine (one cylinder), and
I'm more or less done fabricating it.

When doing a 2 cycle engine, the whole concept is to use the down stroke
to compress the airmixture, and then open the intake so the compressed air mixture
can enter the cylinder. How is this archived on a two-cylinder two-cycle engine? Do the
pistons work parallel, or do you have separate crankhouses?

(Ignore my bad English, it's not my native language, and specially technical English is kinda hard for me)

Cheers /Jon

Jon, Can't answer your questions but welcome to the group. LOT of knowledge here from people willing to share it.
Show and tell us something about your equipment.
Julian G.

AllThumbs said:
Generally, separate crank cases.

Welcome!

Eric

As i suspected, having them run parallel would put much stress on the crankshaft.

I have access to CNC lathes and mills. I have been working with MasterCam for 4 years, and as an engineer for 6 years. It all begun when i applied my mechanical knowledge creating a small oscillating steam engine for my girlfriends youngest brother. It was a much appreciated pressent. However, since I'm quite involved in active driving (cars) and races with racecars, I thought a small model engine would be a nice start introducing combustion engines to the "small ones" ;)

Cheers /Jon

Edit: It seams to be hard to find good, free, plans for model engines. Is it possible (and appreciated?) to upload PDF-plans of my oscillating steam engine and the 1-cylinder 2-stroke engine to this site?

G'day John.