Welding course advice needed

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChooChooMike

Reaction score
I'd like advice on which of 2 welding classes to take at my local community college.

I'm almost a complete newbie at welding. I took a general metals course 4 years ago and got introduced to oxy/acetylene, TIG & MIG welding.

Class 1:
Welding 21- Basic Shielded Metal Arc Welding (SMAW)
3 units; 2 hours lecture, 4 hours lab
Credit, degree applicable
This is a basic course in shielded metal arc
welding designed to provide the student
with manipulative cutting and welding
skills in the flat and horizontal fillet posi-
tions. The course also includes a study of
welding nomenclature, equipment, occu-
pational safety, joint design, electrode clas-
sification, weld symbols, and blueprint
reading.

Class 2:
Welding 40abcd - Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (GTAW), Gas Metal Arc Welding (GMAW)
3 units; 2 hours lecture, 4 hours lab
Credit, degree applicable
In this course, students will develop
manipulative skills using Gas Tungsten Arc
Welding (GTAW) and Gas Metal Arc Weld-
ing (GMAW) processes on ferrous and non-
ferrous alloys. Emphasis is placed on the
requirements for certification in accor-
dance with AWS D.17.1:2001, specifica-
tions for Fusion Welding for Aerospace
Applications (formerly Mil-Standard-
1595A Qualifications of Aircraft, Missile
and Aerospace Fusion Welders).

My aim is to gain some general welding skills/knowledge, no particular goal at this point. These are 2 of the available classes I can make.

So any advice on which is more practical for general use is appreciated. Depending on availability in the fall, I may then take the other one.