University of Maine's BSMET Steam Engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

taiden

Reaction score
Greetings all,

I am a student in the Mechanical Engineering Technology program at the University of Maine. As part of this program, we draw and build a steam engine. The plans are given to us during lecture. We use these plans to familiarize ourselves with CAD (Solid Edge) and it's attached drafting tools.

After our blueprints are signed off by our professor, we are trained on basic machining principles using the steam engine as our project. We are split into teams of five and we assign parts to each member.

At the end of the semester, we race our completed engines by supplying them with air flow via the shop's air system. We run them at no load and record the maximum RPM achieved using a tachometer on the flywheel.

Feel free to use these plans for your own projects. The drawings have been approved, but we are now beginning the build. I will try to keep the plans up to date if we find any errors. Please note that the file is property of University of Maine's Mechanical Engineering Technology department, any reproduction for sale is strictly prohibited.

THE PLANS CAN BE DOWNLOADED HERE
OR HERE

UMO-BSMET-Steam-Banner.PNG

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pi-OcbBU6Dw[/ame]

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUYSbetbuh0[/ame]

DSC_4156.JPG

DSC_4190.JPG

DSC_4201.JPG

View attachment UMO-BSMET-Steam-Engine-2013.pdf

Hi Leonard,

The no load max revs test I think just happens to be tradition for the college. It was discussed in another thread to use a baker fan and I completely agree.

The slowest rev test is also a really good idea. I feel it would reward very well timed engines.

What usually happens is the gearheads open theirs up and do port and polish jobs to try to get the best speeds.

Hi,