Stuart No.9 (Looking for build blog)

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rourkek4

Reaction score
Hi All!

First post!

My father is a restorer of stationary oil & steam engines, and when health doesn't allow that, a builder of models. He has given me a gift of a very well built stuart 9 that does need disassembly, clean up, repaint, reassembly and a new mount/base. I grew up in his machine shop and i am an mechanical engineer by profession, so i am quite able, and the intention is to start building myself, however purse strings have not allowed the purchase of a lathe & milling machine for my own place yet.

Anyways, to the point! I have been trawling through here looking for pics/build blogs of other people's 9's for a little inspiration :) but cannot seem to find anything at all. Surely someone in here has done one?

Can anyone be of help?
Much apprecated,
Kevin

My father is a restorer of stationary oil & steam engines, and when health doesn't allow that, a builder of models. He has given me a gift of a very well built stuart 9 that does need disassembly, clean up, repaint, reassembly and a new mount/base. I grew up in his machine shop and i am an mechanical engineer by profession, so i am quite able, and the intention is to start building myself, however purse strings have not allowed the purchase of a lathe & milling machine for my own place yet.

Start small and prove the usefulness of local machine tools and those purse strings will loosen. I always use the "without a shop I'd just spend my spare time at the bar with loose women" line, seems to work.

Anyways, to the point! I have been trawling through here looking for pics/build blogs of other people's 9's for a little inspiration :) but cannot seem to find anything at all. Surely someone in here has done one?