Stuart castings

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have bought my first casting kit, a Stuart 10V. I have seen noumerous builds on TouTube and they are all saying the quality is good. My kit on the other hand, is not. Poorly filled molds, lots of glazing, poor accuracy. All castings are more or less bad. I have got a new cylider and have just posted a mail asking for a new soleplate.
Is this a common problem with Stuart?

I have been telling people about this for a few years now.

You take pot luck on whether you get a set of castings that can be made into a working and cosmetically correct engine or not.

Bad quality, twisted and the usual one of undersized castings being sent.

Their flashy site seems to show a very well run organisation, but over the last few years, it has gone downhill since it has changed hands a couple of times from the original very good supplier, who gained a very good reputation for the quality of their work to what you get now.

BTW, the answer you will most probably get back if you query them that the castings are the wrong size (usually too small) is that 'you are a model engineer and you should be able to sort out the problem yourself'. How can you sort it out when there in no metal to affix a screw into?

John

Is it a machined kit you ordered from Stuart?

I had ordered the machined Stuart D10 and the surfaces was turned, milled, drilled and treated for bolt. Never been finished with grinding or honing direct from Stuart. :( Then i reworked with grinding/honing to a perfect fit +created 2 new pistons and 2 crosshead.

You might be quite correct Rudy, they have the advantage that they can pick and chose which castings they use.