Small IC engine camshaft design

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moper361

Reaction score
Hi all ,I have just completed a small steam engine and am in the throws of setting a new challenge for myself .

I fancy having a go at building a small IC engine from scratch similar basic design to my steam engine I have just finished .

Basic specs
26mm bore
30mm stroke
Rod length approx 112 mm long
2 x flywheel at 115 mm diameter

I am unsure if to try with atmospheric inlet valve or mechanical on both inlet and exhaust .

I have never built an IC engine before and would like to gather basic information for thoughts on a camshaft that would work for either types of valve arrangement

I don't want to get to brain washed with the since of cams etc but want something basic that would be workable .

I would be working along the lines of a mushroom follower design lifter so a cam with quite steep ramp could be used as I can make a camshaft like this on my set up here without to much issue .and think this is more inline with what older engine designers used .

Any help or feed back appreciated

Regards Nat

image.jpg

Here is a test camshaft I made up just to see how it looks I have a sketch also of Specs but not sure if it's any good really I'm no engine designer

image.jpg

This is how it turned out and looks ,do any of you seasoned engine builders think that this would work okay with mushroom followers and using this profile as both inlet and exhaust if I was to go with both mechanical actuation on inlet and exhaust ?

image.jpg

That looks to be a lot of lift, which in turn means you need a lot of piston clearance at TDC, which means a low compression ratio. You can design around these things of course, but it might just be easier to reduce the lift somewhat.