question on a Schroeder Simple Single engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bquiggle

Reaction score
I am brand new at this having just purchased a 7x12 lathe from toolsnow, and a micromark mini mill
I am building Roger Schroeder's simple single, but am a bit comfussed about cutting the oil passage in the crankshaft bearing and the thrust bearing, can anyone explain this or even better draw me a picture :) of where and how the grooves go?
thanks for any help.....Bill

Bil:
Welcome to the hobby and to the board. Without seeing the prints it is a little hard to know the answer. As this is a beginners print it should be basic and easy to read. Sory I cant give a better anwer hopefully some of the IC/AC engine guys can help.
Tin

Tin thanks for the welcome, the plans don't show the grooves, the instructions say, cut oil passage in the crankshaft bearing which starts at the thrust bearing face and goes about 2/3rds the length of the bearing, then cut another groove across the face of the thrust bearing and this groove should connect with the long groove in the bearing

No expert here but oil grooves in bearings generally are just a little channel to get oil from where it is applied and distribute it around the bearing .Also holds a little oil in the bearing. IIRC they are sometimes a couple of spirals.
Tin

Bill,