Question for those with lathe/mill combo

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yellow_cad

Reaction score
I was a machinist for many years so can usually figure out how to get something done but I'm always looking to get bang for the buck in expanding the capabilities of what I have. In my retired, hobby capacity, I have a 8x18 lathe/mill combo. A vendor has a sale on a milling attachment normally used to give the lathe an axis of movement. I'm wondering if the milling attachment wouldn't come in handy to expand the capabilities of the lathe/mill combo especially since the combo is a limited mill anyway. Does anyone have any experience using one of these attachments on a lathe/mill combo? Thanks for any thoughts. Jim

YC probably not going to give you any sort of advantage over what you have. In the days of old and current days for some here those attachments give some milling capacity to folks with just a lathe.

I am a USAF trained machinist and have worked in a a couple of civilian shops.
IMHO most shops prefer separate mills and lathes.
That being said machinist can be very creative and find some amazing workarounds to the limits of there machines.

You are an experienced machinist if you can think of thee ways it will improve the usefulness of your machine get it otherwise IMHO no. Your choice your shop your dime.
Tin