Paint

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris333

Reaction score
Hello,
I recently bought a PMR model 3 steam engine and I have a question about painting parts of it.

What sort of process and paint are best for these metal parts so that oil won't effect it. And should I bake the parts when done.

Thank you
Chris

Chris333, I am building a 3BI PMR engine and I will watch this post so I will know about paint for it too. Ray

Hey guys:
I have done a little painting on objects that can be held in your hand to 40 foot long boat patterns. And stuff in between. I was a painter for a shop that made models and training equipment for industry and colleges.Also trained as an aircraft painter. Most of my models are not painted .

first off all what finish are you looking for ?
the finished product will only be as smooth as the base metal .
here are some basics
the surface needs to be completely clean no metal chips no oil no oxidation. no finger prints.
use a sand-able primer if you want a fine finish
light bright colors such as yellow and orange show up much nicer with a white primer undercoat.
follow manufacturers recommendations
get the spray cans that give you a fan spray
make sure masking tape is tight to the surface for a clean line.
keep the spray can moving across the part.
look at the part and spray from as many angles as possible light coats.
A turntable helps but a coffee can you can turn helps or hang the part with a piece of wire coat hanger.
use proper ventilation.
when done invert can and spray air to clean nozzle.
My suggestion is get a can of white or gray sandable primer and a couple cans of paint from the local auto parts store.
If you have never painted before you may want to practice on a piece of scrap of similar size shape and material.