Newbie - How to get started? Need Advice

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CNC-Joe

Reaction score
Hey Group,

I'm a complete newbie to the I.C. Model Engine building field. Been lurking, been thinking about it. I go to NAMES, drool over the IC and steam engine builds.. but never took the plunge.

I have some basic machining skills and tools (CNC knee mill, cnc desk mill, cnc desk lathe, 2 cnc south bends, etc. I have pretty good CAD skills - both 2-D and 3-D. and some machining software (V-Carve, cut3D, etc)

So, my question is - How to start in this hobby?

I need advice on how to:

-Put an ignition system together for one of these models.
-How to make crankshafts.
-How to grind cam shafts.
-How is everyone making piston rings?

What would be a good starter project ? Something that teaches the basics, but doesn't take a newbie 20 years to complete..

Thanks for any help and direction you can give.

Joe

Joe, welcome to the group and the hobby. Can't give any help with the CNC part put have some suggestion about starting.

Watch the posting like "Engines From Castings" and "A Work In Progress" they will show you what others have done and in some cases how they did it.

For you first build I would suggest you pick a IC that is built from bar stock. The advantage is that if a mistake is made you just cut off another piece and start again. After your skill level has gone up then you could try some of the casting kits that are out there if you wanted.

Good luck with your new hobby and your first build.

Ron

I would suggest that you start with an Elmer engine, a wobbler or other simple example. These will enable you to learn the basics, and get you well on your way to more complex engines. I also would start with manual machines, rather than CNC. Once you know how to turn and mill, you can jump up to CNC.