New member here saying hello.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Thomas

Reaction score
Hello all I'm Brian, I live in Salt Lake City. I am 34 and been doing this stuff for 20 years. I took every machine class in high school and ran the foundry there as well. I have several machine tools at home and am a profesional welder and master fabricator by trade. My lathe is of the hobbie type. Its a 1943 Lodge & Shipley 18" lathe its kinda heavy at 13,000 pounds but it gets the job done. I have a Tree 2uvr mill and a couple nice welders and all this and a hot rod jammed in my 2 car garage.
In the middle of building the dream shop out back but its slow going with the weather latley. I started building a associated lil brother Breisch model int he early 90's but never got it done. It sits on my desk now as a display. The plans got wet at some point so they cant be read very easy and I didnt have the best knowlage then and it is better not done. It was a good learning project. I have been looking at alot of stuff on here and am amazed at the level of craftsmen here.
I have plans for a air cooled Red Wing model but have several obligations a head of that but I will get one soon. I recently purchased a Hired Man engine kit. Mainly cause the buy it now was so low I figure it was worth sitting on. Any way I rambling now so I'll shut up and keep lurking. Hope to earn the groups respect with some nice work. Thanks every one.
Brian.

I just realized this is in the wrong spot! oh well I'll admit i'm an fng.
Brian.

Brian Thomas said:
Brian.

Never mind - nobody's perfect ;)

Welcome to our forum. wEc1

Best Regards
Bob

Welcome to the forum Brian. 13,000 lbs. eh? That ought to be a treat to move to your new shop digs once they are done :)

Regards,

Bill