My First Build! - it's alive!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wizardofwood

Reaction score
Hi all
First post and first build all in one! I work as a machinist and in my spare time usually make wooden puzzles, hence the username.
I have decided to try my hand at a vacuum engine and having found some metric plans, have made a start. Hopefully posting here will keep the momentum up.
I won't go into a step by step of each piece, as I am sure you have all seen a lot of this before, but show you things that made the machining easier for me.
Onto the cylinder, Bore 26mm, OD 44mm, Length 58mm
Setup in the 4 Jaw as this is more rigid than my 3 jaw chuck and drill to 25mm
P1020038.jpg

Rough bore and then finish with a HSS brazed bit with plenty of cutting fluid, I use a soluble oil and a finishing cut of 0.05mm.
P1020039.jpg

P1020040.jpg

All the fins were cut using a 1.5mm wide parting blade, and the sharp edges taken off with a 90 degree pointed tool.
P1020041.jpg

Part off and the lathe work on the cylinder is finished!
P1020042.jpg

Good start,wiz!We just luuuuuv shiny things :big:
Looking forward to the rest of your build.

welcome WOW
nice job on the first piece! what is the material of the cylinder? aluminium?

Welcome to the forum Wizardofwood wEc1

That is a very neat cylinder you made there!

Regards, Arnold

Welcome to the forum!
You must have been lurking a little bit since it's apparent you know we love pics.

Nice starts Wizard...keep the pictures coming...and welcome to the forum too!!

Bill

Thanks everyone for the welcomes and comments.
Yes I have been lurking a bit, there are some incredible things people are doing.
Ariz, the cylinder is steel, the reflections give it a bit of an ali sheen

Welcome Wizardofwood.
Very nice looking cylinder you have there!

Onto the piston today.