Moriya Stirling Fan build

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

techonehundred

Reaction score
Ok, Here is a total Newbie, both for machining and posting. I am starting on a Moriya Stirling Fan. Right now I am working on the first three parts.
DSCF2260.jpg

On the Hot end, I used round stock because I do not have a 4 jaw chuck for my Select 10" lathe yet. :hDe: I have only had it a couple of months so I have a list of accessories I need to get. But what did I expect for $250. But I digress.
DSCF2249.jpg

So I made a square clamp to hold it in place on the engine. I am trying to make all of the pieces before I drill the bolt holes, so they will line up. The biggest challenge so far has been the upper cold side of the cylinder. My aluminum would catch and break my 1/16" cutoff tool when it was stuck out 3/4". Maybe I am just not patient enough.
But it is done for the most part now.
I have one question for anyone who has done this. Did you use asbestos for the gasket between the hot end and the base? If so, where did you get it. If not, what did you use?
You will have to be patient with me, because I go slow, so there will probably not be daily new pictures added, but we will see.

Hi, and welcome to the forum. One of my first projects was a Moriya fan. I built it without a four jaw chuck, by making a piece or two as a build up of parts brazed together. I was totally new to machining at the time, and it took a few months for me to get it done. I'm thrilled with mine, and I'm sure you will be too.

Did you say your lathe cost $250, and if it did ,WOW what a bargain!

Please continue posting you progress while building Moriya, and if you need an help let us know. Were here to help. :)