Mill with Lathe

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carbide_burner

Reaction score
I am new to this model engineering thing, and already enjoy every moment!
Cost of tooling (and machines) is a bit of a prohibiting factor for me at this stage. I have a small chinese lathe that seems surprisingly capable for what I use it for. My problem is that the milling machine I dream about is still somewhere on the horizon...

There is a saying that goes something like: "poverty is the mother of invention" SO, I put my think cap on and have an idea that might help me out in the meantime. I've been toying with the idea for quite some time now, and I was wondering if any of you guys have done or seen something like this before? I want to take the compound slide off, and mount an angle plate in it's place. Then mount the compound on the angle plate in a verical position, and replace the toolpost with a small vice or drilled faceplate. This will give me movement in 3 directions. Sounds a bit like a milling machine to me! ;D

I hope the picture below shows what you suggest, (can't get photobucket at work so can't see)

Image063.jpg

however, if not check out the pics of my lathe in this thread as it shows a milling operation in progress.

http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/index.php?topic=1627.0

Regards

Al

YES YES YES!!!! :big: EXACTLY like that!!! :big:

After those pics a huge bolt of inspiration struck me!

Thanks!

Nice. Will try and make it myself though. (Remeber the thing about the poverty? ;D)
I just love this forum (and Google). I dit a couple of searches and came up with more pictures of similar modifications.

Bye 4 now.