Metric or Imperial

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattMoore

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm in the process of setting up a workshop at home for engineering.
These engines I keep seeing posted are really getting me excited about working metal.
I'm a joiner by trade and work in metric, albeit to 0.5mm tolerances most of the time,
Not quite engineering standards. Although my Dad was a trained pattern maker, but thats another story.
I'm assuming that the majority of people here stick to one unit of measure.
But I see a lot more imperial than metric.
I'd like to try and stick to metric for making the engines and some tooling I need at work.
Will I encounter any problems sourcing material and hardware in metric?
Or should I try and get my head round imperial?
I only really want to buy one set of measuring tools, and tooling so your comments will be greatly received.

Thanks

Matt

Hi Matt.I would say it depends on your location.In the UK,Europe or Australasia,metric is the standard,whereas in the USA,imperial or US standards are used.
Suppliers stock both,but in the US standard is probably cheaper,everywhere else,metric is cheaper,and easier to get.
If your confident with metric,stick with that.Personally ,I find metric the easiest,because that is what I was brought up on.
Welcome to this great hobby,and whatever form it takes,enjoy it!
Hans(New Zealand)

You'll get more meaningful answers if you put at least some hint of your location in your profile.